Ms. Marvel Project

Roasted brussel sprouts: a new favorite

This barely qualifies as a “recipe” because it’s so super simple, but it’s something I never tried doing until about 1 month ago and now I’m totally addicted. I love brussel sprouts anyway, but when you roast them in the oven… OMG, they become the best thing ever.

Here’s how I do them:

Ingredients:
– 1 package of frozen brussel sprouts
– 1-2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
– salt and pepper

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425
2. Either use a large ziplock bag or the bag the brussel sprouts came in for this step: Add oil, salt and pepper to the bag and massage the brussel sprouts through the bag until they’re all coated
3. Spread out evenly on a baking sheet
4. Cook at 425 for 35 minutes

After 35 minutes at this temp, using my oven, the brussel sprouts get decently charred and crispy on the outside and extremely soft on the inside. You may need to make adjustments on the cook time if you like slightly less char or due to variations in ovens.

It doesn’t get much more simple than that! Sometimes when I get home from work and I want an “appetizer” before we’re even thinking about getting dinner started, I’ll just throw some of these in the oven. Being brussel sprouts, they’re very healthy so I don’t even feel guilty about it!


Back to Friday blog hopping!

young and restless

Getting to Know You

April 6, 2012 - Posted by | Blogging, Project, Recipes | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I do something similar to this, only it includes roasted walnuts (if I have them) and bacon. YUM.

    Comment by Jadzia@Toddlerisms | April 6, 2012 | Reply

  2. Oh alright….I’ll give Brussel sprouts a second chance…sigh…. My husband will thank you.

    Stopping in via the blog hop and decided to follow..

    Bev @ Blue Velvet Vincent

    Comment by Bev | April 8, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] my parents, my brother and myself. I was planning to make a healthy side dish for the family (my roasted brussel sprouts) and aside from that, all I knew was that my mother would be cooking up a […]

    Pingback by Family food traditions « Ms. Marvel Project | April 14, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

