Ms. Marvel Project

So… what’s the plan?

As I mentioned in my introductory post, I just came back from a week-long vacation. My boyfriend and I took our first big trip in our 2+ years of time together and went to Disney World. The trip was amazing and it felt we were walking miles upon miles every day while we were gone, soaking up more vitamin D in the Florida sunshine than either of us has gotten in recent memory.

But it wasn’t just the memories and souvenirs that I brought home with me — I also took home a lovely cold, complete with a terrible cough, stuffed up nose and no energy to speak of. I wanted to begin my new fitness journey as soon as we arrived home, but I knew it would be a bad idea to move forward with it when I wasn’t feeling physically well.

Whenever I get inspired to start a new project in my life, I usually like to jump in with both feet RIGHT that second. This time, I’m trying to make sure I don’t set myself up for failure. I now have the blog to keep me accountable, and on Monday morning, I plan to start in — full force: good eating, working out hard, and documenting the whole thing. I plan to do official weigh-ins for myself once a week on Saturday mornings, first thing after I wake up. Thus, I will record my official starting weight tomorrow morning to start the trend.

I’m lucky to have plenty of ways to work out that are convenient and that I can easily integrate into my life. There is a full gym at the office that I can use during my lunch break, after work or on the weekends. I live very close to the office, so there’ s no reason I can’t use that gym whenever the motivation strikes. At my apartment complex, there is a small, but somewhat lacking, fitness center. There’s one working treadmill, some scarily old weight machines and a few other miscellaneous things. I once told my boyfriend, D that being in that gym feels like being in a prison. Needless to say, I don’t use that gym very often, but it’s there if I need it.

If all else fails, there are plenty of workout options even inside my own apartment. I have a workout bike, lots of DVDs, some free weights and even a WII zumba game.

All this is to say – NO EXCUSES. People with much less than this have been able to get in shape. I think the harder part for me will be finding the right foods to eat and sticking to them. A post for another day.

I’ll be tweaking the layout and options on this blog over the next week or so. There’s so many options and I can’t make up my mind! In the meantime, I’ll be back tomorrow with weigh-in #1.

~L

October 7, 2011 - Posted by | Project |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

