Ms. Marvel Project

Snowy productivity

Today I found myself with some extra energy during the afternoon, and I got so many things done that it fueled me for the rest of the day. I set out during my lunch break to go food shopping and to pick up some wine at the liquor store. I did both those things very quickly and had enough time to head back to the apartment and unpack everything (I’m lucky enough to live within walking distance to my office), and THEN unload the dishwasher, reload it and pick up clutter in the living room. When I got back to the office, I got a ton done there as well and I’m hoping this trend can continue because it’s going to be a busy weekend.

Unfortunately, winter has come early to Boston, and I’m not too happy about this. Winter is my least favorite season, and here, it’s also the longest. I much prefer seasons like the one we had last year, where the snow didn’t start until after Christmas. It doesn’t even matter (as much) that immediately after Christmas, we had a blizzard, followed by another blizzard almost every single week until March. I still was able to keep up relatively good spirits because we didn’t have to endure snow and frigid temps from October through December.

Last night I headed into Cambridge to have dinner with a friend. We hadn’t seen each other in at least 2 months and we talked mostly about my Disney trip. He’s from Floriday and is a Disney expert and enthusiast, so he wanted to hear all the stories and discuss how some of the attractions had changed since his last trip. The drive to Cambridge was grueling – it took me about 1.5 hours and it was torrentially downpouring the entire way. I only live about 15 – 20 miles from Cambridge, but the weather + rush hour traffic (although, logic states that traffic should have been going the opposite direction…) = a driving nightmare. By the time we had finished eating, the rain had turned to snow and it was REALLY coming down, but thankfully not sticking to anything.

If that wasn’t enough, now we have a noreaster headed this way for Saturday night, which will definitely result in accumulating snow. I’m so happy that I no longer have to dig out my car to go to work, but I’m so unhappy that the days of being able to do things outside are now over. The smallest things become hard when it’s 20 degrees outside and snowing – even doing errands or seeing friends. Last year, due to the abundance of blizzards, I had to schedule and reschedule a doctor’s appointment about 6 times because I wasn’t going to be able to make the drive with 10 inches of snow on the ground. So frustrating.

This weekend, I’m going to try to keep a positive attitude and focus on keeping up my streak of productivity. If I can get to the gym at least once (hopefully twice), I’ll be very happy. I’d also like to come up with some new recipes to add to our rotation so that I can keep things interesting in that area.

Happy weekend, everyone!

October 28, 2011 - Posted by | Life |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

