Ms. Marvel Project

Weekend wrap-up

I didn’t start off the week like I usually do today. The weekend was a whirlwind with ups and downs and bizarre happenings all at once.

The good: As planned, D’s sister came to spend the night for her birthday. Also as planned, my parents came over on Saturday for lunch and to hang out. Both events were a lot of fun and it felt good to see family. Everyone seemed to have a great time.

The bad: My brother was also supposed to come over on Saturday, but had to back out at the last minute because he came down with Strep. Then, on Sunday morning, my mother emailed to let me know that my family’s pet cockatail had passed away overnight. We had him for 13 years, and he was like a member of the family so everyone was pretty sad. He had been going downhill for a while, so it wasn’t a total shock, but it was still kind of sudden.

The bizarre: After all of those events were over, D and I decided to watch some movies last night since neither of us was really intereseted in the Super Bowl, plus we wanted to take our minds off of things and escape for a while. About halfway through the movie, at around 9:30, what do you suppose would happen? Naturally the fire alarm started wailing throughout the apartment building. We immediately got up, grabbed our stuff and walked down to the lobby where we found… absolutely nobody except for the security guard. Then 2 fire trucks and at least a dozen firemen showed up and were saying there was a fire in one of the apartments. But apparently NOBODY in our 12-story gigantic apartment building cared enough to leave their cozy apartments for safety. What in the world?

Anyway, the firemen weren’t able to find anything actually on fire, but they did have to break open a door to an apartment on the third floor (would hate to be those people coming home to find their door in pieces), so we went back upstairs and tried to calm down after such a commotion.

Needless to say, I needed a day to recover from this weekend’s events, and that day is today. I’m not putting the pressure on myself to go to the gym, but tomorrow I see no reason not to go. I did work out 4 times last week, and I’m pretty happy about that.

Did anything bizarre happen during your weekends?

February 6, 2012 - Posted by | Life | ,

2 Comments »

  1. I can’t believe no one else would come out of their apartment when the fire alarms were going off!! I always read the news about people dying in apartment fires – and I guess that’s why! They don’t even bother to try and escape. (I don’t mean that as harshly as it sounds, but wow, I am shocked they wouldn’t at least figure out if something was on fire or not!)

    I have to say nothing bizarre happened to me this weekend. It was pretty boring, as usual – which is not necessarily a bad thing lol.

    Thank you for linking up with the Getting to Know You blog hop! I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to stop by!!

    Christina

    Comment by Christina | February 7, 2012 | Reply

    • I had the same reaction! A fire is no joke, and even once the fire engines started showing up, no one else really came down. It was shocking!

      Thanks for stopping by and checking out my blog 🙂

      Comment by Lisa | February 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

