Ms. Marvel Project

Heavy weights and Friday hopping

In my travels as of late, I’ve been hearing time and time again that if you want to get stronger and build muscle, you should lift heavier weights at the gym for less reps rather than an easier weight at a high rep. I usually land somewhere in the middle: I do weights that aren’t that tough for me, but that do feel pretty heavy after lots of reps have gone by.

However, yesterday I decided to take the advice I’ve been hearing over and over again and try to put it to use. In a lot of ways, this method does work well with the way I like to work out. Generally if I know I’m going to be doing a long set of something, I dread it, whereas if I’m doing a short set, I won’t have that problem at all. It’s a mental thing. Plus, if I’m working hard at the gym, I like to know I’ve worked hard by feeling it in my muscles the next day.

Here’s what I did yesterday. All weights that I used were about 10 pounds heavier than my normal workout:

3×8 vertical chest press: 50lb
3×8 chest flies: 30lb
3×8 leg extension: 40lb
3×8 hip adductors: 60lb
3×5 regular chest press 20lb

And today I’m really feeling the effects! As soon as I got back to my desk after this workout, I downed a greek yogurt because it’s always good to have something high in protein right after doing something challenging to your muscles.

I’m really hoping that if I keep this up, I’ll start to see some new muscle building.

What is your weight lifting style?


Here are some great Friday blog hops. Happy Friday!

Blog Hops Everyday and A Mommy's Blog Design Friday Blog Hop

young and restless

Getting to Know You

May 4, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Oh i cant wait till i can do weights again!
    I love weights!

    Comment by Christa Cox (@ChristaCox3) | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. Wow! That sounds fantastic. I need to start lifting again.

    Comment by A Lapin Life | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] Ms. Marvel as my inspiration. There will also be tons of … … Read the original here: Heavy weights and Friday hopping « Ms. Marvel Project ← Five Easy Steps to Get Ripped Abs | […]

    Pingback by Heavy weights and Friday hopping « Ms. Marvel Project – To Get In Shape | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  4. Lift weights? No this girl doesn’t lift weights. lol But I think it’s great that you are great to keep up with weight lifting like you do. I am going to keep checking back with you to see how your doing. Then maybe by that time you will have talked me into start lifting. But I am hard headed so….. My son lifts and is always trying to get me to do it with him.
    Anyway, I found you through the Get to Know you blog hop. Glad I did, I like how you have goals and can’t wait to see you make those goals!
    I am following you on facebook and I will be back!
    Melissa
    Crafty Mel Designs

    Comment by Melissa | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  5. Hi, Lisa.

    My weightlifting style is non-existent, but I’m dropping by via the Getting to Know You blog hop. Looking forward to doing just that. Good luck with this and your other goals.

    Take care,

    Casey

    http://www.facebook.com/navigatingcyberloss

    Comment by Casey B | May 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a comment