Ms. Marvel Project

7 working hours left!

Only 7 more hours of work until I get a nice long 5 day holiday weekend! Remember the days when we were kids and we got a whole week off for Christmas? Or better yet, in college when we got a whole MONTH? We certainly had it good back then.

My cold took a turn for the worse over the past 2 days, and my throat felt like it was on fire yesterday. I ended up going in to the office for a half day and then working from home for the rest of the day as well as today. So, in a way it’s almost like I got an extra 2 days of vacation, but not really because I still am working while I’m at home, not to mention the fact that I need to be resting so this cold goes away in time for Saturday’s festivities. I can’t wait to get back into the groove of working out and eating better.

Being at home and sick has given me every excuse I didn’t need to eat badly all day, and this is really not a good thing. There’s so much chocolate and holiday goodies here, and I’m not doing very well resisting  temptation. I can feel myself getting out of shape every day that goes by. I really feel that once I’m no longer sick, I’m going to throw myself into getting my body in shape and healthier. I can just picture going in for my physical in a few months and finding out my cholesterol is high again. I can’t have that happen! High cholesterol and bad hearts run in my family and I need to make that my main motivation for getting in shape. It’s not just about looking nice – it’s about so much more than that.

Anyway, all of my Christmas presents have officially arrived in the mail (I don’t think I bought a single one in a store this year!) and all but one is wrapped, so I’m basically ready to go! Christmas Eve, D and I will go to my parents house around 1 for lunch and presents amongst my immediate family. After that, all of us pack up and head out to my aunt’s house where the big crowd gathers, for lots and lots (AND LOTS) of food, presents and other festivities. We’ll stay there for the majority of the night and then D and I will come back home and probably open a few of our presents to each other.

Christmas Day, D and I go our separate ways so we can each celebrate with our individual immediate families. I will go back to my parents’ house where we open all the presents from Santa and then have our traditional Christmas turkey later that afternoon when my aunt and uncle come over to visit.

It’s a whirlwind and Christmas Eve is really the biggest day for us. I’m excited, but I hope this cold is gone by then so I can fully enjoy myself!

Well, back to finishing up my workday, watching some daytime TV and drinking my emergen-C!

How are you spending these last few days before the holidays hit?

December 22, 2011 - Posted by | Life, Project | ,

1 Comment »

  1. Tonight, the kids and I have completely TORE up the kitchen making TONS of Christmas Cookies! Now I am so tired and there is icing and cookies everywhere! I didn’t eat supper tonight, just oodles of cookies! I figured I’d check my email and then sit down for awhile before tackling this MESS

    Thanks for dropping by BlogWithMom from the blog hop!
    Bobbie Anne

    Comment by Bobbie Anne Munsey | December 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

